Kids

Students decide who gets their head flicked by a quick game of rock, paper, scissors 🙂

Who ever thought I would be a teacher…definitely not me.  I don’t like repetition and I’ve always thought puppies were cuter than little kids, but Korean children have captured me.  They have this this dumbfounded look on their faces all the time but they are actually really smart. Probably even smarter then me. I introduced the game Simon Says to them but I have run out of ways to outsmart them! They are all  geniuses and I end of having to give out multiple prizes because we run out of time. My school is a private school known as a hogwan, similar to after-school extra curricular activities. Koreans go to their regular public school then will go to hogwans such as English, Chinese, Math, Piano and many more. Some kids go to as many as 7 hogwans a week. So a typical day will include regular school, a few hours of hogwans then a few hours of homework.

One of my classes was telling me how sometimes they don’t sleep because they have so much work and they get headaches from stress. Mind you, these kids are only about 8-12 year olds. It is so insanely competitive, but they don’t know any other way.

About roxykesh

My name is Roxy and I am teaching English in Daegu, South Korea. Sometimes I write about it on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kids

  1. Nic says:

    Roxy I’m bored. Can I flick your forehead? It’s a thrill I promise…

  2. roxykesh says:

    Okay!

Leave a Reply

