The Games

Attending the world cup games have been so much fun. The energy is incredible with absolutely every person, old and young, cheering on for Korea (before they lost). All the kids wear cute t-shirts and faux tatoos to school while the rest of society wear Korean paraphernalia in a fashionable or business style. For the Korea vs. Nigeria match I went to a soccer stadium with a huge group to watch it amoung thousands on a big screen. The game didn’t begin until  3:30a.m. on a Wednesday but that didn’t stop anyone from cheering on hardcore. Except I did snap a photo of one guy passed out! Anyways here are some pics and stuff:

Singing the national anthem!

The end of the game (6:00a.m.) everyone couldn’t be happier because Korea is (was) still in the running. Sigh.

Passed out guy

There was no toilet paper in the washrooms and this is why!

I said I would put my friend Vivian on the blog...haha. Muah!

I’ve also checked out some other sporting events including a baseball game where Daegu played worse than the Toronto Blue Jays scoring 1 run in the 7th inning ultimately losing 9-1 or something like that. I’ve tried to block it out to be honest. I also went to a soccer game too.

Decked out in Samsung Lion gear (Baseball)

Mascots shooting god knows what into the stands

Cheerleaders

The one soccer game I went to it unfortunately rained pretty hard. The stadium was not covered so it was pretty empty but a few of us managed to sit under some shelter. We still had to wear ponchos as it was really wet! I admired the few fans who did not, I repeat, DID NOT stop cheering, chanting and jumping the entire game despite the rain. Needless to say I was pretty impressed!

About roxykesh

My name is Roxy and I am teaching English in Daegu, South Korea. Sometimes I write about it on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

