Beijing

I would like to make a dedication to all the people who pestered me to write a new blog entry. If I had a penny for every time someone said I needed to update my blog, I would have about five pennies, teehee. Anyways, thank-you and this is for you!

Beijing was unlike any other city I’ve ever seen. First impressions– cramped, dirty and big.  Regardless of impressions I gave the city my all…I learned a few words, bartered on Silk Street, ate things one should never eat, experienced the crazy rush hour and even got a Chinese massage (never again!). I visited the Great Wall, Summer Palace, Wafujing Street, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Sqaure, the Olympic Stadium, and saw an acrobatic show all in six days!

A few pics:

Wafujing Street served all kinds of tasty delights (sarcasm) and sold plenty of authentic "Made in China" souvenirs, all of which you had to seriously bargain for.

The entrance of the Forbidden City displays a picture is of former leader Mao Zedong. Across the street is Tiananmen Square, the location of the "Tank Man" incident.

View of the Forbidden City from Jingshan Hill located just north of the attraction.

Summer Palace is where the Emperor's family stayed when they wanted to get away from their downtown palace. It was much prettier than the Forbidden City and more interesting. The first phone connection in China was placed in the Summer Palace thus becoming a hub for military and government officials.

View of Biejing from the Palace. You’re far enough from the city center that you feel as if you are somewhere else. So gorgeous! You could also take a big dragon boat out to the center island, which we so did.

We went to Mutianyu part of the Wall. It was less crowded and came highly recommended from fellow travelers.

Took a cable car up...

...and took a slide down! Video- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2I8w0uHaNF0

The Great Wall of China dates back to the 5th century B.C. and continued to be constructed throughout many Chinese Dynasties. In total it stretches for 8,851.8 km. Many people died while building the Wall and to honour them some of their bones were built into the foundation. An urban myth states that the Great Wall can be seen from space but sadly I found out that this is untrue 😦

During my stay there I said over and over how happy I was that I chose to teach in Korea. Beijing is a definite must-see city and the trip has definitely heightened my interest in visiting other cities in China but damn and I glad I don’t live there!

About roxykesh

My name is Roxy and I am teaching English in Daegu, South Korea. Sometimes I write about it on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

