Shanghai for New Year!

 

1990 to 2010

Korean New Year, or Seolnal, is the most traditional holiday in Korea. Having spent last Seolnal in Seoul I decided to go elsewhere this time around. Shanghai is only a 1.5 hour flight away and despite the $70 visa fee it was the cheapest international destination. My old London roomie, Shumiao/Tracy is picking me up from the airport and taking me to her hometown to experience a traditional Chinese New Year. For the weekend I’ll be heading back to check out Shanghai. I’m very excited to see Shanghai as I hear it’s incredibly sexy, modern and completely different from Beijing. I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

On a bit of a side note, I got a box of noodles as my New Year present from my school. Considering other holiday gifts included, dried mushrooms, dried persimmons (which went moldy) and dried fish, this is a major score. Also, the servings are individually wrapped, perfect for my mild OCD.

Happy New Year! ~ 새해 복 많이! ~ 新年快樂!

 

About roxykesh

My name is Roxy and I am teaching English in Daegu, South Korea. Sometimes I write about it on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

